One of the reasons so many married couples have trouble communicating is because they aren’t doing it effectively. Simply having conversations isn’t enough. You have to communicate in a language that your spouse understands. That truly speaks to him. That’s where the five love languages come in. If you aren’t familiar with them, they are five different ways- quality time, receiving gifts, physical touch, words of affirmation and acts of service- of showing love to your partner. For most people, one or two love languages stand out among the others. There may be instances where you experience love through all of the love languages, but you’ll likely find a frontrunner that makes you feel the most loved.

You can discover what your love language is by taking the assessment here. Once you and your husband both know your primary love languages, you can easily find ways to strengthen your marriage by speaking your mate’s language more often.

1. Quality Time

If your husband’s primary way of feeling loved is by spending time together, his love language is probably quality time. Make him feel loved by scheduling one-on-one time together. Have meaningful, uninterrupted conversations. Consider taking a weekend getaway. Whatever you can do to make time for just you and your husband will make him feel loved.


2. Receiving Gifts

You don’t have to go on a shopping spree and buy your husband a bunch of gifts for no reason. But if his primary love language is receiving gifts, and you come across something you think he’d enjoy, he’ll appreciate it if you get it for him. Bring him home his favorite drink from Starbucks one night. Or get him tickets to watch his favorite team play. Find little ways to shower your hubby with gifts, and you’ll get a great gift in return- a happy husband!

3. Physical Touch

You don’t just have to make yourself available for sexy time if your husband’s love language is physical touch. Small things like holding hands or hugging will also make him happy. Whenever you have the chance to embrace your husband, go for it! Lay your hand on his knee while you’re sitting next to each other. Embrace him for a few moments before you go to bed. Love on your man physically, and you’ll probably feel good too.

4. Words Of Affirmation

Words have power. They can do great harm or have a positive impact on a person’s well-being. Keep this in mind if your husband’s strongest love language is words of affirmation. It isn’t always easy to verbalize your feelings, but if you can put them down on paper, that will make your man feel loved too. Send your husband a sweet note in his lunch. Or leave one on the bathroom mirror. Let him know with words how much you love and appreciate him as much as possible.

5. Acts Of Service

If your husband is often asking you to do things, like pick up his dry cleaning, or make him a plate of food, it might be because his main way of feeling loved is through acts of service. It doesn’t mean you should be treated like a slave and serve your husband at the expense of your own happiness. It just means that if you are able to get things done that are important to him, he will very much love you for it.


Leena Kollar

Leena Kollar

Contributing Writer at Life As Mama
I'm a wife, mother and everything else associated with domestic life. I can often be found hiding from my kids to sneak treats (especially ice cream). I love rainbows and naps, and I find any excuse to go to Target. When I actually make it out of the house in real clothes, I document my outfits on my fashion blog, Leather & Lip Gloss. My love for fashion also inspired me to start my own comprehensive style website, The Style Spectrum.
Leena Kollar