You’ve probably heard of the five love languages, different ways people receive and communicate their love for others. These can be used to determine the best way to show those around you how much you care in a way that they will understand. The love languages are:

  • Acts of Service
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Physical Touch
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality time

Learning your significant other’s is a great way to plan the perfect romantic evening. Speak their language, and do something for them that really makes an impact rather than leaving them wishing you had done something else.

It’s important to remember that you can use the knowledge of love languages to show not only your significant other how much you care, but your children and even yourself! These graphics from show how you can show your family (and yourself) just how much you love them!


Acts of Service Love Language Ideas

When someone’s love language is “acts of service,” they prefer that you show your love and appreciation through chores or other odd-jobs. For example, making your significant other breakfast in bed, helping the kids clean their room, or treating yourself to a cleaning service!

love languages

Words of Affirmation Love Language Ideas

Those who seek words of affirmation want to hear that they are valued, appreciated, and loved. For example, you could share something nice your significant other did on social media, write your kiddos a note in their lunchbox, or write down what you like about yourself!

love languages

Physical Touch Love Language Ideas

The physical touch love language isn’t just reserved for couples–people who speak this love language simply want human contact! For example, you could give your significant other a back scratch, style your child’s hair for them, or schedule a manicure or pedicure for yourself!

love languages

Receiving Gifts Love Language Ideas

Those that want to receive gifts don’t always necessarily want something extravagant, they want something meaningful and heartfelt. For example, you could bring your significant other their favorite flowers, pack a small gift in a child’s backpack, or order yourself your favorite dessert!


love languages

Quality Time Love Language Ideas

People whose love language is quality time love to have your undivided attention once in a while! For example, you can show your significant other you care by scheduling a weekly date night, you can play catch in the yard with your kid, or you can treat yourself to a bubble bath!


love languages


Want more info on the five love languages?

How To Love Your Husband By His Primary Love Language